2012-2013 Season
2012-2013 Season

Classics Series
Chorale Season

All Events
Make A Donation


Beethoven's 5th
Saturday 8:00 pm September 29, 2012
Sunday 2:30 pm September 30, 2012

The most famous four notes in classical music launch our 2012-13 season: Beethoven’s mighty 5th, the keystone of an all-orchestra night. A lively Rossini overture introduces the concert, followed by Berlioz’s favorite of all his works. Romeo and Juliette was colored by the composer’s own love story; and audiences share his affection for its 'Love Scene,' from its atmospheric opening to its ecstatic conclusion. In the Rhapsody that follows, Liszt conjures up a carnival in 1840 Budapest, filled with Hungarian folk tunes and musical fireworks.

Conductor: Paul Polivnick
  • Gioachino Rossini: Torvaldo & Dorliska Overture

  • Hector Berlioz: 'Love Scene' from Romeo & Juliette

  • Franz Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsody No. 9 Carnival in Pest

  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 5 in C minor

About Paul Polivnick

Paul Polivnick


Symphonie Espagnole
Saturday 8:00 pm October 20, 2012
Sunday 2:30 pm October 21, 2012

Concert Takes Place at Center for the Performing Arts, 255 Almaden Blvd, San Jose Directions | Seat Map

A delightful concert of large-scale Romantic music: Lalo’s passionate Symphonie Espagnole is more violin concerto than symphony. Written for the supreme Spanish virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate, it tests the most skilled of violinists, and we have invited the young international sensation, Mayuko Kamio, to perform this work for us. The program closes with the first of Dvorak’s great symphonies, packed with color and melody.

Conductor: Wilson Hermanto
Soloist(s): Mayuko Kamio, violin
  • Franz von Suppe: Dichter und Bauer Overture

  • Edouard Lalo:  Symphonie Espagnole

  • Antonin Dvorak: Symphony No. 6 in D major

About Wilson Hermanto
About Mayuko Kamio

Wilson Hermanto


Serkin, Brahms & Tchaikovsky
Saturday 8:00 pm December 1, 2012
Sunday 2:30 pm December 2, 2012

"…what one carries away from a Serkin Brahms performance is of a startling intimacy, expressed on a heroic scale."  --Boston Globe

Brahms and Tchaikovsky together should be enough for any concert. But to cap this one off, we have engaged master pianist Peter Serkin to perform the D-minor Concerto with his frequent collaborator, Maestro George Cleve. Our December program marks Serkin’s first San Jose appearance in over two decades. Brahms’s concerto is paired with the deeply dramatic symphony that Tchaikovsky himself called "the best thing I ever composed or ever shall compose."

Conductor: George Cleve
Soloist(s): Peter Serkin, piano
  • Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor

  • Pyotr Illyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 Pathétique

About George Cleve
About Peter Serkin

Peter Serkin


Kurt Weill: Berlin, Paris, New York
Saturday 8:00 pm January 12, 2013
Sunday 2:30 pm January 13, 2013

Great numbers of artists left Europe for America in the 1930s and 40s, and the move transformed both them and their new home. Kurt Weill was one of these, and his music mirrored his journey.  In this concert / cabaret, we hear first 1920’s Berlin (Three Penny Opera, with its immortal ‘Mack the Knife’); then Paris (Seven Deadly Sins, part opera, part theater); and finally New York, where Weill helped shape the music of Broadway. Lisa Vroman, ‘a musical and theatrical marvel,’ (S.F. Chronicle) joins the orchestra in Weill’s Seven Deadly Sins and in unforgettable Broadway melodies from ‘My Ship’ to ‘Lost in the Stars.’  Lisa is joined by Josheph Meyers, tenor; Adam Flowers, tenor; Jordan Shanahan, baritone; Kirk Eichelberger, bass.

Conductor: James Holmes
Soloist(s): Lisa Vroman, soprano
  • Kurt Weill: Three Penny Opera Suite

  • Kurt Weill: Seven Deadly Sins

  • Kurt Weill: Broadway Medley

About James Holmes
About Lisa Vroman

Lisa Vroman


Verdi's Requiem
Saturday 8:00 pm March 23, 2013
Sunday 2:30 pm March 24, 2013

To celebrate Verdi’s 200th anniversary, the orchestra and chorale perform his dramatic Requiem in the resonant and resplendent California Theatre. Written for the concert hall rather than the cathedral, the Requiem moves from the awe and majesty of Judgment Day to the tenderness of a prayer for peace. Summer Pops favorite Maestro Jaffe, in his regular season debut, conducts this moving work by the great Italian master of vocal magic.

Conductor: Peter Jaffe
Soloist(s): Symphony Silicon Valley Chorale, Elena Sharkova, Director
Christina Major, Soprano
Layna Chianakas, Mezzo-Soprano
Christopher Bengochea, Tenor
Jordan Shanahan, Baritone
  • Giuseppe Verdi: Requiem

About Peter Jaffe
About Symphony Silicon Valley Chorale
About Christina Major
About Layna Chianakas
About Christopher Bengochea
About Jordan Shanahan

Peter Jaffe


An American In Paris
Saturday 8:00 pm May 11, 2013
Sunday 2:30 pm May 12, 2013

Our American sampler program offers us two city portraits: George Gershwin’s high-spirited visit to busy Paris streets and crowded cafes, and Bernstein‘s vision of New York’s excitement, brutality, and hope. They are prefaced by Cárdenes, Cuban-born Tchaikovsky Violin Competition winner, performing Korngold’s concerto.  A musical prodigy, Korngold fled pre-war Vienna to the U.S, where he wrote movie scores (The Adventures of Robin Hood, The Sea Hawk) that revolutionized film music.

Conductor: Paul Polivnick
Soloist(s): Andrés Cárdenes, violin
  • John Adams: The Chairman Dances

  • Erich Korngold: Violin Concerto in D major

  • Leonard Bernstein: On the Waterfront Suite

  • George Gershwin: An American in Paris

Program Notes
About Paul Polivnick
About Andrés Cárdenes

Andrés Cárdenes


A Hero's Tale
Saturday 8:00 pm June 1, 2013
Sunday 2:30 pm June 2, 2013

Following Debussy’s sprightly dance, Jason Vieaux, hailed as the modern master of his instrument, performs the most popular guitar concerto in the classical repertory.  Rodrigo’s dream of Spanish gardens is followed by Ein Heldenleben, or A Hero’s Life, one of Strauss’s last and greatest tone poems.  A large-scale orchestral showpiece, it concludes our 11th season on a note of triumphant opulence.

Conductor: Tatsuya Shimono
Soloist(s): Jason Vieaux, guitar
  • Claude Debussy: Danse (Tarantelle Styrienne)

  • Joaquin Rodrigo: Concierto de Aranjuez

  • Richard Strauss: Ein Heldenleben

About Tatsuya Shimono
About Jason Vieaux

Jason Vieaux



© 2017 Symphony Silicon Valley
P.O. Box 790, San Jose, CA 95106-0790
325 South First Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Phone or Fax: (408) 286-2600

Supported, in part, by a Cultural Affairs grant from the City of San José